The Number System

The real numbers number system consists of rational and irrational numbers which are explained in this video.

Rational numbers consist of different number sets. First, we get natural numbers that are from 1 onwards. We can write it as N = {1; 2; 3; 4; …}.

Then we have whole numbers. The whole numbers number set consists of all the natural numbers and a zero. We can write it as No = {0; 1; 2; 3; 4; …}.

The next number set is integers. Integers are positive and negative numbers; however, it does not contain fractions. The integer number set can be written as Z = {…; -2; -1; 0; 1; 2; 3; …}.

The symbol for rational numbers is Q. Rational numbers can be written as a fraction in the form a/b where a and b are integers except b cannot be equal to zero.

Recurring decimal numbers are also part of rational numbers. Now what are irrational numbers? Irrational numbers are non-recurring decimal numbers and never-ending decimal numbers, for example, π and √2.

Please share this post...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *